E-ciggs in Jail

Status
Not open for further replies.

texastumbleweed

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Nov 17, 2008
DEEP IN THE HEART OF TEXAS!
i am a former prison nurse and have worked in maximum security male penitentiaries in two states-Texas and Georgia. Texas prisons are non-smoking. Georgia prisons are smoking. The problem is that the hardware would be considered contraband and can be misused. Convicts can get pretty handy and inventive with anything that has a "charge". It will NEVER happen. I can bet on it. They would also misuse nicotine juice, overdosing etc. When you break the law, you lose your rights. Dont mess with Texas.

SlimXero

ECF Veteran
Sep 7, 2009
Seffner, Florida
I can tell you as a current Correctional Officer, this will NEVER be authorized. Too many variables that could hurt/kill. Exposing an atomizer = burn someone. Liquid = easy way to poison. Further, ANYTHING with a charger/battery is closely monitored as any of those things can be modified to charge cell phone batteries. Hell, i catch crap for bringing MY e-cig to work. So yeah, no it won't happen. I can't guarantee it.

Kevin Freeheart

ECF Veteran
Feb 20, 2010
Live Free Or Die
I see no reason, personally. If the whole "being physically barred from physically obtaining nicotine" isn't a good, swift ...-kick in the "get off the analogs" ..., the problem isn't the drug.

That said, I have no qualms about it. Since it's quite possible in the USA to end up in a jail cell for a totally peaceful, voluntary transaction, I'm not quite willing to write off luxuries and creature comforts for people in prisons so long as they're funded voluntarily.

SlimXero

ECF Veteran
Sep 7, 2009
Seffner, Florida