Long term storage of concentrated nic

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kurt

Quantum Vapyre
ECF Veteran
Sep 16, 2009
Philadelphia
Most e-liquids are normally reported to have about a 2 year shelf life. Is this true for DIY 100mg nic liquid?

What are the recommended methods for storage that might extend the storage life of concentrated liquid?

Read this thread:

http://www.e-cigarette-forum.com/forum/myfreedomsmokes/43742-smoke-juice-storage-tips.html

In it I describe how I processed for storage and safe usage 500 mL of 100 mg VG, very thick stuff! Be advised, 100 mg e-liquid is dangerous. As a chemist, I think this method is the best, and should keep the juice usable for a lot longer than 2 years. The thread is a touch long, but will give you the info you need. Contains links to containers I used. I started using this method with 35 mg juice, but then applied it to 100 mg. Good luck, and post or PM me if you have questions.

uzzaperez

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Oct 12, 2009
Perez-uzza to this day
Thanks guys for the info and the link to the other thread, a lot of good info in there.

Here is a very informative exchange I had with Levy Roberts from xtremevaping.com - they sell nic in concentrations up to 100mg/ml and have good prices. Note that in the last part of the chain Levy says it is okay if I post his comments here. He also mentions he's preparing a nic FAQ so I'll be looking forward to that.

--------------------------------------

Looking at some 100mg liquid with the purpose of storing it for DIY. Is there a recommended method for longer term storage that might extend the life beyond the normally reported 2 year life span? Thanks!
Uzza

It is not the Nicotine that has an expiration date.
It is the PG and/or VG that expires.
Nicotine will not lose it's strength over time, it just oxidizes, turns yellow or brownish.
PG and VG will sour, and ruin the flavor.