Status
Not open for further replies.

bacc.vap

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 18, 2011
Virtualville
I haven't used cotton other than the Japanese stuff, so I'm no expert, but if all i had was regular cotton, I'd probably boil it to get any chemicals and/or impurities out of it, both for safety and flavor. You can find some vids on youtube. Then again, a cotton wicking expert may come along and tell you that I'm wrong.:facepalm: I think I'd still boil it though.

Kaezziel

Supreme Overlord of Everything
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 29, 2014
Houston, TX, USA
Yes, it's perfectly fine to use. If you have any real concern over it, you can always boil it first, let it dry, then use it for wicks. I used sterile cotton balls from CVS with no further treatment and had no issues (aside from the fact that I was using cotton). I've since moved from cotton to rayon and am much happier... it's just a superior wick all the way around, but it takes a bit getting used to. Look into it if you're interested.

You can get it at Sally's Beauty Supply (online or B&M)
Graham Cellucotton Box Numbers:
Box #s: 44060 (500 ft), 44043 (3 lbs = 900 ft), 44040 (1200 ft), 44130 (40 ft).
Trust me... it is SOOOOOo worth giving it a shot!! And check out the Rayon thread for all the tips and tricks on how to use it... it is not like cotton (you need more of it.. tighter inside the coil)
Rayon Wick: Better Flow, Flavor, Saturation and Nic Hit

Reactions: Cirkulis

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I use regular "organic" cotton balls. Like Ocelot, I prefer Rayon (cellucotton), but it can only be purchased in bulk in quantities which I don't have a need for. Since I ran out of Rayon, I've been using the organic cotton again.

I think Rayon holds up a little longer, and doesn't get charred by the heat of the coil, like cotton can. Maybe a little better in flavor, too.

General tip on wicking: LESS IS MORE better than too much.

Ecigproblem

Sep 27, 2015