Smoking an E-Cig without nicotine "safe"? Please help. Im a newbie.

Status
Not open for further replies.

tevin

Apr 4, 2013
United States
After Smoking hookah, I really liked it. I am NOT a smoker but i do like the flavors that is has and i like blowing out the vapors. I did a little homework and i saw that some E-cigs had flavors that did NOT contain any nicotine. I know its still not 100 percent safe and there are always some risks when inhaling anything but If it does not have nicotine and it does not contain tobacco then all i am really smoking is flavored water vapor right? I would like to know more about it. and if it is "safe". thanks. :)

NancyR

Account closed on request
ECF Veteran
Apr 25, 2012
Washington State
Tevin, we can't answer that question 100%, we can say that it is safer than smoking was for us. No long term studies have been done showing how safe this is. I can tell you that inhaling anything can have risks. I can also tell you that some flavorings have been proven to be unsafe such as buttery flavors, and that vg can be a poison if it gets heated too extream temps (much hotter than we vape but hot spots can happen)

firefox335

ECF Veteran
May 31, 2010
Ohio
I would not encourage anyone who is not a smoker to use an e-cigarette. That being said, I would much rather have you pick up an e-cig than a pack or Marlboros. And if you don't currently smoke, you should definitely use e-cigs/liquid with no nicotine. Nothing in life is 100% safe. But e-cigs are about 100 times safer than traditional cigarettes.

PS: Nancy, your avatar is adorable.

redbucket

ECF Veteran
Nov 18, 2011
USA