Triton Coil Change

Status
Not open for further replies.

doctordun

ECF Veteran
Oct 7, 2014
TX
As you know, I am new at this.
When I need to change my first coil in a Triton tank are there any secrets I should know?
If it is full of liquid when the coil fails, do I just pour it out and change the coil.
Do I need to make sure there is no liquid in the tank that can get in the threads of the new coil when I put it in?
In other words, do I need to use a q-tip and make sure the post is dry, before screwing on a new coil?

Note: Mom is slowly getting the hang of pushing the button on the Triton battery. It's down from almost every time she forgets, to about a third of the time.
I keep a G6 handy for her just in case.

striderrblu

ECF Veteran
Jan 18, 2014
Albany, NY, USA
If the coil fails, empty the tank and change it. I would probably wash the tank and let it dry out before putting in a new coil. Tribeca (if I recall this is what your mom vapes) gunks the coils more quickly than lighter liquids -- I usually cleaned my Triton coils and tanks with Tribeca like once a week (but I make distractions for myself).

Only change coils when the tank is empty and dry. Usually letting it dry overnight (air drying) is sufficient as long as you make sure the posts don't have droplets stuck in them (by blowing them out). Word of advice, if you do a vodka soak, don't soak it for more than an hour or so. I've had some Triton tanks degrade because of leaving them in vodka for too long.

I used to dry my threads and stuff really well with a q-tip if I was impatient and didn't leave my tank/coil assembly out to dry over night. I fixed that by buying more tanks and coils.

chesty

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 28, 2013
Sydney, Australia