Am I a real DIYer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

IndyJones

ECF Veteran
May 1, 2012
Clearwater, FL
floridalawweb.com
I've been doing DIY for several months now and i have a very nice collection of flavors. I rarely make more than 10ml of any flavor and I have dozens of juices on hand. However, I almost never combine flavors in a recipe the way you see recipes posted in this forum. I do combine juices on a regular basis, using only flavors that have steeped if necessary. If i want something that tastes like bananas foster i take an empty bottle, squirt in some banana, then some kind of vanilla and caramel and top it off with a touch of toasted almonds. too much banana? add some vanilla & caramel. too much caramel? add some vanilla.

Admittedly, this week's batch may not taste like last week's, but it feels more creative somehow. It's the same way i cook up a batch of chili once a week. It never taste the same each time but it all gets eaten.

patkin

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Nov 6, 2012
Arizona USA
I'm right there with ya. Once you know what chili powder and cumin do and how strong that particular brand is you pretty much know how much to add, give or take a teaspoon... same with maple or pecan give or take a drop or two. That's one of the reasons I prefer Flavor West because using the quantities called for they're much more forgiving. Don't get me wrong, I do like the super concentrates too but have to be way more careful (like I would be with garlic cooking.) I think I know why most here do it the technical way though. They share their recipes. I can't do that with food or juice.

Last edited:

Aurora-Oblivion

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 18, 2012
Isle of the Wizards
Chef Jones, or Chef Indy? :)