Asking a question and introduction

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi my name is Lynne and I am pretty new to forum. I work as a stop smoking advisor and have heard consultants and nursing staff say to my clients "we have conducted autopsies and found oil in the lungs and those who have been vaping". I thought this was impossible because of alcohol based glycerin? I have researched this and found no evidence to back this up. Except one report from ITV in 2011 about a Wardley (Gateshead) man who had lipoid pneumonia and would have died from this anyway.

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

gandymarsh

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 11, 2014
WI, USA
I've been vaping almost 5 years and I've never heard that claim.

Health care professionals are people so they may be biased or they may be misinformed by an article they read.

AFAIK there is no oil in liquids made for vaping. Everything is water soluble. Maybe those people were vaping "other stuff" or using grocery store flavorings made for candy/frosting etc.

VG is very viscous and does resemble oil but it is water soluble. PG, also water soluble, is used in asthma inhalers and has antibacterial qualities.

Brewdawg1181

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 30, 2017
Metro ATL
You might ask these consultants and staff members why they are making Unsubstantiated Medical Statements which are hard to explain as being anything more that FUD?
Yes. And also ask the consultants and staff members why they're conducting autopsies? I don't think they're allowed to do that, even in the UK.:eek:

But then, if they just make up stories about vaping, I guess they feel they can do what they want.

Seriously, though - if you're job is to assist people in stopping tobacco, you really need to call them out on this. And speak to the top person in charge. Wow.

sonicbomb

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Feb 17, 2015
1187 Hundertwasser