AW IMR 18650 in Innokin SVD, Getting a little hot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve0311

Oct 19, 2013
NY, USA
Hi folks, new guy here so this question may seem stupid but I need to ask.

Just got an Innokin SVD and I put a charged AW IMR 18650 battery in there. It had charged fully yesterday on an xtar WP2, and so has had a day to "Rest". I've noticed that when I chain vape at higher wattages (in the 10 watt range) the tube on the mod starts to warm up a little. I'm brand new to mods and these batteries, so I wanted to know if this is normal. It doesn't get HOT, just warm to the touch. The tube then immediately cools down. When I pulled the battery out, there was no melting, no engaging of the fail-safes of the mod, and the battery was cool to the touch. I don't believe I overcharged the battery, nor do I believe I have a knock-off AW IMR. By chain vaping, I mean doing about 8-10 long vapes in a row at a mid-high wattage.

Any ideas on whether I'm in trouble or if this is just normal operation? Thanks.

Ryedan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 31, 2012
Ontario, Canada
That's a great battery for this mod Steve. My first thought is that it's probably not the battery that's heating up, but the mod from the chain vaping. It would be heating the top of the SVD first. Is this the case? What do you have on it, clearo/carto/RBA? That would be getting warmer than the mod.

If it is the battery making the tube warm, don't continue to vape it, something would be stressing the battery and once they start getting warm in use it's not safe.

Couple more questions if it's the battery getting warm. About how many charge, discharge cycles on the battery and where did you buy it from?

Steve0311

Oct 19, 2013
NY, USA