Status
Not open for further replies.

anavidfan

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 14, 2012
U.S.
I have 6 18500/ 490 batteries that I bought a few months ago for when my Super-T ELA came in. I have only been using them since ELA came in which is probably about 3 weeks now. I notice that they just dont hold a charge very long. The only 2 out of the 4 that work properly and last longer than 30 mins consistantly are the Efest ones. THe other 4 IMR AWs just either dont work even after charging ( I do let them rest before popping them back in) or they only work for a few minutes or an hour at the longest.

I have always used AW IMR batteries in the past, 18650s but ELA is the first device that uses other sizes. I was wondering if anyone else has had any problems with AW ordered from about May this year or late March.

darkzero

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 28, 2013
SoCal
I have been using AW's in my custom flashlights for almost 10 years now & I have never received one that was bad. I have only killed two IMRs from neglecting to charge them when the voltage dropped too low. I have IMRs from when they first came out that are still performing fine.

On the ones that have issues, what are the resting voltages after a fresh charge? When measuring their voltages contiuously does the voltage gradually decrease? After measuring them off a charge, if you let them sit for a period time, check their voltage again, then sit for a period of time again, then check voltage again, are the readings less & less each time you check? Do they get very hot when charging? These are all signs of a bad cell.