Battery Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveI

ECF Veteran
Oct 20, 2012
NJ
When is it time to retire a battery?

Is it simply when the charge it can hold is insufficient/inconvenient? Is there a danger I am not aware of?

I've been using Samsung 25R and 30Q's for the past 5 years. I have a few with a bad sag and short life. For example, on 0.22 ohms in bypass mode, a few sag to 3.20-3.25v. When a battery gets weak is there a danger, or just annoyance?

I use mechs and regulated, single dual and triple. batteries stay mated where applicable.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
As a battery ages, it loses capacity (mAh) and amps over time. At some point, a 3000mah battery becomes a 1500mah battrey; a 20 amp battery becomes only a 10 amp battery. So, if you reach a point when you're trying to draw more amps from an older battery than it has to give, yes it could become dangerous.

Your understanding of simply replacing the older batteries when they drop their ability to hold a charge or become annoying because of poor performance is sound.

Last edited:

Rossum

Eleutheromaniac
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 14, 2013
SE PA
As a battery ages, it loses capacity (mAh) and amps over time. At some point, a 20 amp battery becomes only a 10 amp battery.
What's interesting is that this is probably less of a hazard in a mech than in a regulated mod. The reason that the 20A battery becomes a 10A battery is due to an increase in internal resistance. In a mech, that means less voltage applied to the coil, and hence less current drawn from the battery, whereas a regulated mod will try to draw however much current it takes to produce the power that the user has set (provided of course the battery's voltage remains above the mod's cut-off point).

stols001

Moved On
ECF Veteran
May 30, 2017