Beginner coil builder: what ambitious doing wrong

Status
Not open for further replies.

vapemate93

ECF Veteran
Jun 13, 2016
Hi I've had my first rda (berserka Mini) for a couple weeks now and it's my first time building my own coil for it. The tank is amazing and is perfect for me truly made me realise how good vaping can be when one figures the right setup for their needs.

Issue is I find it takes me on average 3 coil builds to get one okay one and I keep throwing the bad ones out thinking I've screwed it .when I make them I don't know what I am doing wrong but I'm making them so tight that when you vape it is extremely hard to get any vapor from a hit, but the odd 1 coil will be fine , in some cases I can't even produce any vapor out of a 20 what MTL hit. What am I doing wrong? Is this a wicking error or a badly made coil?

I build my coils between. 0. 8 to 1. 0 using 6-7 wraps of 27 gauge SS wire.

Thanks

Reactions: stols001

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
It's not unusual to have to make a lot of coils when you first start out. Coil building and wicking is as much a learned skill as it is an art form.

Without pics, its impossible to know what you are doing wrong. We need pics from the side as well as from above.

What type of coils are you making? My advice. KISS. (Keep it simple, Stupid)

dom qp

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 15, 2015
South Central... Ontario
My advice. KISS. (Keep it simple, Stupid)

The wise words of my grade 9 shop class teacher.

Meanwhile, after he received his CNC machine he had no problems sending us off to autocad some plans so we could play with his new toy.

No one is safe from the shinies.

ScottP

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 9, 2013
Houston, TX
...but I'm making them so tight that when you vape it is extremely hard to get any vapor from a hit