Beginner help for Genesis atomizer rebuild

Status
Not open for further replies.

CurlyLioness

Apr 3, 2019
I was not looking to get into building coils, but I recently purchased the old "first of it's kind" Digiflavor Esspresso 22 Genesis sub ohm tank. It is easily re-wickable and claims to also be easy to rebuild, but I know absolutely nothing about rebuilding. From the little research I've done on rebuilding coil heads, most say that Genesis coils are quite complicated and tricky to rebuild, but to my understanding, rebuildable atomizers allow you to customize coils to meet your needs. Please correct me if I'm wrong, I'm a complete newb. So, this tank came with 2 pre-built coils: the GVC-1 (0.4 ohm Clapton coil), and the GVC-2 (0.2 ohm Clapton coil); one of which I am unable to use with my particular mod. I am running a fixed 40w on the Jomo lite 40s. The 0.4 works okay on this mod, but the recommended resistance is 0.5 ohms, it can run anywhere from 0.3 to 1.0 ohms according to the manufacturer specs. I guess what I want to know is, does the ability to rebuild the coils mean that I can adjust the resistance by using different coil builds, and if so, can someone please point me in the right direction of a good starting point to learning how? I understand this particular atomizer is not recommended as the first rebuildable for beginners, but I am a DIYer in all facets of my life, and a quick learner, so I am sure I can do it with some good instructions. Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
I might be a bit biased, but by choosing a "Genesis-style" RBA, you picked one of the more difficult devises to use effectively. They are "old technology" and I'm kinda surprised that they are still around.