Beginner: Muted Flavor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cstober

Moved On
Jan 22, 2018
Do different types/sizes of coils really influence flavor that much?

I'm new to building. I've had a positive transition to RDAs so far. I use DROP by Digiflavor with GeekVape Aegis.

I used a pre-built Clapton coil (twisted 26ga+32ga) and the performance was great. Single coil build at 0.5 ohms. That said, I actually didn't know how great it was until I built and installed my first coil.

26ga kanthal A1, slightly spaced single coil build at 1.5ohms. Granted the coil is a little wonky but it wicked and it fires nicely. The problem is the flavor seems so muted (yet the throat hit is strong).

Now I'm trying to figure out what is causing this muted flavor. Am I just spoiled after using a pre-built Clapton before anything else?

I wicked it appropriately, as far as I can tell. The inner diameter of my first built coil is 3.5mm because I still have trouble measuring and fitting cotton into the smaller coils. I believe the inner diameter of the Clapton was 2.5-3mm. However, it seems to be the same surface area as the Clapton.

I ran both coils at 30-40 watts. While the Clapton was much lower resistance, it had less of a throat hit so I used it closer to 40w VS this first built coil closer to 30w.

I've tried using less air flow, changing to the 510 drip tip (tall and narrow) but it still seems muted. Perhaps the coil just needs to "break in"? I changed it yesterday.

I'm debating whether to scrap this build and use another Clapton. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I will attach a photo of each build below.

^ 26ga kanthal a1

^ Clapton (26ga+32ga)

Reactions: stols001

stols001

Moved On
ECF Veteran
May 30, 2017