build quality of clones (nemesis and kayfun lite plus)

Status
Not open for further replies.

lemonyleprosy

Verified Member
Mar 2, 2014
Los Angeles
so... a bunch of gear arrived today. was super excited until i started opening all the packages.
i'm a poor student, so buying the real deal is not within my budget, however, i expected clone build quality to at least be adequate. given that they dont have to worry about the r&d budget and are just copying others designs, and that when it comes down to it all i'm paying for is a few bucks worth of machined metal...
my kayfun lite plus clone from ehpro came with a large crack in the chimney, and a 2.5mm metal hangnail hanging off of it. makes it impossible to get a sealed tank, and i'm sure it chewed up the o-ring.
my nemesis clone by h-cigar has what i can only describe as the worlds cheapest switch on the bottom. grabby, loose, junk.
but my kayfun 3.1 clone from h-cigar is perfect.
is this build quality (or lack thereof) common with clones? or did i just have very bad luck?

K_Tech

Slightly mad but harmless
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 11, 2013
Eastern Ohio, USA
It almost seems odd talking this way about a clone manufacturer, but EHPro and HCigar are generally thought of as top-notch. I'd say that you have some bad luck going there - may I ask from where you purchased your items?

I only ask because I've heard a few Ebay horror stories about bad vape gear purchases.

Richard75

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 23, 2012
Pennsylvania
It's not just a clone thing, it can happen with the authentic stuff. I once received a mod (very expensive and from overseas) that had a massive scratch in one of the pieces (and I mean a gouge). Luckily the manufacturer is a great guy and personally sent me out a replacement part. He covered shipping and everything. That's the difference between authentic and clones - I doubt Hcigar or Ehpro would do that.