Burnt my throat while sub-ohming, don't be like me.

Status
Not open for further replies.

InDaCloud

Jan 31, 2014
Hawaii
I've been vaping for about 4 years now, but mostly with ego style devices. In the past year, I've started using VV mods like the Volcano Lavatube v2 and the itaste MVP. After watching many videos on youtube, I decided I wanted to try mechanical mods. I picked up my gear online from various sites like MadVapes, Kidney Puncher and Discount Vapers and with some basic tools in hand, I began building my own coils with an Octopus RDA on a Magneto mod. I wanted to ease my way into rebuilding so I stuck with 1.2 to 1.4 ohm builds for the first couple of weeks. When I felt I could build some pretty decent coils, I started moving into sub ohms greater than 0.7. After about a week, I figured I was ready to try some dual coils. Of course, I made sure that I had all the right information about how to measure the resistance of dual coils and made sure the amp draw on my battery was sufficient. My first dual coil was a micro on a Scar RDA @ 0.7 ohms. It performed pretty well and so I proceeded to try different coils such as the dual nano dragon coil and twisted kanthal coils. I had made some coils even @ 0.5 with no issues. All worked great and performed like I had seen on the videos. I then decided to purchase a bigger RDA (the Helios) and try some really low ohm coils @ 0.3 to 0.2. This is where I made a big mistake. My first build on the Helios was a dual 0.6 ohm micro coil of twisted 28 ga. kanthal and it was just great. The vapor just awesome and this success gave me the illusion that I knew what I was doing. Wrong! My second build was a complete disaster. I was foolish enough to throw caution to the wind and build a 0.3 ohm quad micro coil. Before I put the cap on, I fired it a few times and watched the vapor just pour off the top. I was thinking that this was going to be a moment I'd never forget. I was right. As I took my first lung inhale with the 4 la