Status
Not open for further replies.

rob33

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Dec 20, 2009
A World Traveler
So I've wanting to up my DIY game a little. I've been using syringes and beakers since started several years ago. They work fine with less than 60ml batches "I thought". After researching what scale I needed and got, I noticed a difference in the the quality of the liquid I was mixing. With a eliquid calculator that takes in account weight differences of pg/vg base and flavor the difference is very noticeable.

So how did I decide what scale to buy. I looked on the forum and most everyone said a 500g scale. This is only half of the answer that is the size of the scale. The scale I had in the kitchen was a nice scale for food items. I tried it and not so good for eliquid, see there is a minimum weight that will register on the scale all scales have this. See my scale was a 0.5 gram not near sensitive enough for mixing eliquid. What I found a sensitive scale could be expensive so I had to look a little harder and found one I really liked it was compact, attractive, and most of all accurate and affordable at $16. It's only a 200g capacity, but is enough for me and comes with a calibration weight. It senses change at 0.01g, almost breath of air and I have been well pleased with it.

https://www.amazon.com/calibration-...622&sr=8-3&keywords=brifit+digital+mini+scale

To add: I still mix in a 100ml beaker cause a 120ml boston bottle weights 110g and the beaker only 50g.

Last edited:

uthinkofsomething

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Jun 7, 2015
Toledo, Ohio
Plastic bottles are even lighter. I needed a 500g scale for the amounts of liquid I make, and I actually could use an even higher capacity scale... Just yesterday I had to make a 500ml bottle of juice for a friend and of course that is way over limit with the bottle and max vg.

Spydro

Sindoyen
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 20, 2013
nowhither
Another fan of scale mixing DIY's.