Confused at how my regulated mod RX2/3 is calculating displayed current

Status
Not open for further replies.

arabdjin

Oct 11, 2016
I understand Ohms law well (I'm an avionics engineer by day) and how it applies to mech and regulated mods. For regulated mods the Watts + battery voltage is what counts, however... all the calculations I see say take the set wattage and divide by the total battery level (at lowest value) to get the current draw. So setting my mod at 75W with a triple battery mod I should see:

75W / 9V = 8.33A

My mod (Reulaux RX 2/3) displays the current voltage AND current draw and at 75W I'm seing, 3.46V and a current draw of 20A.

Does anyone know how the current displayed on this mod is calculated?

Any help would be most appreciated!

KenD

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 20, 2013
Stockholm, Sweden
kennetgranholm.com
I understand Ohms law well (I'm an avionics engineer by day) and how it applies to mech and regulated mods. For regulated mods the Watts + battery voltage is what counts, however... all the calculations I see say take the set wattage and divide by the total battery level (at lowest value) to get the current draw. So setting my mod at 75W with a triple battery mod I should see:

75W / 9V = 8.33A

My mod (Reulaux RX 2/3) displays the current voltage AND current draw and at 75W I'm seing, 3.46V and a current draw of 20A.

Does anyone know how the current displayed on this mod is calculated?

Any help would be most appreciated!
The current draw on the 2/3 (and pretty much all mods that have an amp display) display the current at the atomizer, not the battery. After the chip does its regulation. The volts shown is what the mod fires at to provide the set watts. So a regular ohms law calculation based on the resistance and that voltage is the basis of the calculation. Useless information really.

Sent from my M7_PLUS using Tapatalk

arabdjin

Oct 11, 2016