RDA dripping noob, having difficulty producing a thick, satisfactory draw

Status
Not open for further replies.

thenasty1

Jan 20, 2010
michigan
i am new to dripping, but have been vaping for years and rebuilding tanks for a while now. i know im behind the times a bit, and i want to start dripping, but, ive been having problems getting a good pull from a rda. i use a rta on the regular with no issues- if i build it right its excellent, and i want to learn to get the same results (or better) with a rba. i started with a patriot clone with 1.2 ohm dual coils with cotton wick on a mech. the vape was extremely harsh and disappointingly thin, and the flavor was a bit muted. my guess was not enough airflow. the stock air hole on my patriot is very small, and i lack the technology to drill it out, so i got myself a plume veil clone. i built that with the same coil as i did on the patriot and adjusted the airflow to wide open. the vape was still very thin and harsh with poor flavor. i played around with the airflow a bit with no success. and now, im stuck. lowering the resistance of my coils is not an option at the moment, im stuck using a vv mod (min. resistance 1.2 ohms) to check resistance until i can get another good ohm reader. ive read that lowering nicotine concentration might help, so i made a batch of liquid at 6 mg (i usually vape 12 mg in my tanks). it has a few days left to steep, so in the meantime i figured id hit the forums and see if there was anything else i was doing wrong. anyone have any info/experience that may help? help me produce the vape and flavor that i know these things can.

Last edited:

Heespharm

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 7, 2014
Htown,tx
i use a 1.2 ohm single coil in my rta on a mech and it works great. what makes the dripper different?

Usually Rta have really small chambers... On a dripper there's a lot more room so more power and in turn more heat needs to be thrown at it