E2 Cartomizers (Version 4): My Take

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pheisty

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 23, 2009
Wisconsin
Okay all, so I purchased the new E2 Cartomizers (V4), with bated breath, hoping that the wicking/leaking issues would be fixed. They were. These things vape great. They do everything they're supposed to do. However...

They taste like rubber. At least, to me they do. Now, keep in mind that I'm very, very, very sensitive to smells/tastes. My husband always tells me that I should be a taste-tester or a chef because I can pick up absolutely any and every flavor in anything (and because I'm an amazing cook, of course ;) ). Unfortunately when it comes to vaping, I see this as a curse.

So if you're like me and have 'princess and the pea' taste buds, you probably aren't going to like the Version 4 E2's for the rubber-taste reason alone. Aside from that, they work superbly.

I'm gonna stick with my V3's and just continue doing badkolo's ptb mod. The flavor is amazing...they do leak a bit, but I'd rather deal with the leaking issues than have to taste rubber while I vape.

UPDATE:

I've been told from various ECF folks that I should attempt a dry-burn or rinse before using these, and apparently the taste improves tremendously. I'm gonna give it a try tomorrow and post my findings.

Last edited:

Turbo

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 23, 2009
Southeast/USA
Hah, some people are cursed w/ extra sensitive taste buds. After being smoke free for almost a year mine isn't bad either. I haven't got any 'off' flavor on the r4' I'm using. I have on the r3's w/ primer, even after dry burning. It'd take a dozen puffs or so to open up. BTW, I'm currently using a r4 808 XL. I do have some 510's to try as well.

I understand a lot of the r4 510's aren't the full versions and some may have glue/silicone at the base. I'd still try the dry burn. Never can hurt to try that. Keep us posted.

Liv2Ski

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member