eVic VTC Dual TC setting help

Status
Not open for further replies.

crammit442

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 7, 2011
Alabama
I'm relatively new to TC. I've been using mechs exclusively for about 7 years with 26 ga kanthal at about 0.5 ohm. When I started using the eVic TC, I ordered SS316 in 26, 28, and 30 ga. I also have Ti in 26 and 28 ga. My plan was/is to be able to use the same builds on the eVic w/TC and my mechs. With the lower resistance of the SS, I've found that I'm using the flimsier 28 ga SS316 to get the TC to work well. I'm building an SXK Doggy Style tank for loose MTL. I'm building single spaced 3.0 mm I.d.coils at around 1.2 ohm. When I build w/the 26 ga SS, I'm doing good to get to 0.5 ohm w/3.0 mm contact coils. I'm not sure why, but I'm finding it difficult to get the TC to work consistently. Is the problem the TCR of 316? I've got some 430SS and NiFe 30 and 48 ordered. I'm using 100% VG juice which is working well at 1.2 ohm, but getting burnt taste at times w/26 ga at 0.5. Would loading ArcticFox help or will I find the other wire alloys solve most of my issues? FWIW, I'm using rayon and my liquid is thinned slightly and wicks well. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
Charles

Reactions: stols001

Dubminer

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 10, 2016
No idea of the mod but all i use is 316 L in TC with the Doggystyle with DNA devices. Try a slightly spaced coil at around say 0.8 ohms.TC seems to work best between 0.5 and 1.0 ohms in my experience. I only MTL and my current Doggy build is 28 ga SS 316 L 2.0 MM ID 7 wraps coming in at 0.58 ohms. I think 3.0 mm id is to big when the airhole on the SXK is only 1.6 mm.

crammit442

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 7, 2011
Alabama
make sure that the original ohm reading is taken while the coil is room temp around 70F.
I'm doing that and locking the resistance.

1.2 ohm is too high for TC. Works better below 1 ohm