Experiences with Nitecore SC4

Status
Not open for further replies.

aLyr

ECF Veteran
Dec 7, 2016
European Union
Hello all,

I've been using the Nitecore SC4 charger for several months by now.

This charger shows for the selected bay in 2 second turns:
a) cell status (good/bad) + cell internal resistance
b) charge current + cell voltage
c) charged mAh + charge time

I do not find the value of the cell's internal resistance to be reliable.
For one and the same cell, there are remarkedly high differences from one charge to another.

The Nitecore SC4 does not charge LiIon cells up to 4.2V, although it shows this value at the end of charging.
Half an hour after charging, cells have 4.16V at most.
This is not bad, as this can enhance the lifetime of cells.

This charger also works slower than e.g. a Nitecore SC2.
But despite that, it keeps the cells colder during charging.

I do not exactly like to charge two cells at 2.6A each simultaneously, though the system current is 6A.
But I tried that with a Samsung 35E matched pair, and it worked very well.

There is also the capability to define 2 cells to be charged first; when done, the other cells will be charged thereafter.
A nice feature.
Depending on required charge currents, you might call it a 2 after 2 charger.

Though the Nitecore SC4 may have some deficiencies, it will remain my preferred charger.
It gives me some good information and does not stress my cells.

Regards,
aLyr

aLyr

ECF Veteran
Dec 7, 2016
European Union
At this time, I am charging a Samsung 30Q with my Nightcore SC4 as a single cell in the 4 bays.

At the beginning, the charger reported an internal resistance of 74 mΩ, which I found quite high.

Thus, after 2 minutes of charging, I disconnected the cell from the charger for a split second. Thereafter, the charger reported merely 67 mΩ.

This makes me feel that the charger's measurement of cell internal resistance is far beyond being reliable.