Status
Not open for further replies.

PapawBrett

Retired
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 16, 2012
Monroe NC
I must state first that I am very new to this. In fact, I just set up my first 12 mason jars for a cold maceration in PG. Many of the Tobaccos I chosen (from P&C) are aromatics. I am far more interested in the finished product than how quickly I can have these ready. I have chosen PG as an extraction medium for ease of use, and because I am in recovery (22 years) and have no reason for keeping PGA or OEA around.
Has anyone ever tried an extended cold maceration, particularly with aromatic pipe tobaccos ? I am intending to let these sit until Mid- February, a thirteen week extraction of the "Stick it in the corner of the closet and leave it there" kind. I have read where several people have tried three and four week cold macerations with aromatics and were not particularly satisfied with the results, so I thought I'd try a longer extraction period. Maybe eight weeks, maybe twelve, who knows ? I don't...
Do you have any experience with extended cold maceration ?

Str8vision

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2013
Sallisaw, Oklahoma USA
I haven't much experience using aromatic tobaccos but have conducted many PG based room temperature (cold), extractions of non-aromatics allowing them to soak anywhere from 4 - 12 weeks. From my experience the longer they are allowed to soak the better the flavor gets. Some tobacco types (like cigars), require much longer soaks to achieve an adequate level of flavor. My last cold PG based extraction was started last march and is still soaking. Should be interesting to see what benefit (if any), such an extended soak offers.

usr/

ECF Veteran
Nov 17, 2013
N. Alabama