Status
Not open for further replies.

BrandonSi

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 19, 2009
Chicago
(That was supposed to be 'General'**)

I know TPA/TFA has MSDS for flavors, which makes it pretty easy to grab the sg/weights, but I was wondering if anyone had started a master (or even vendor specific) flavor weight list? I'm just getting started with weight, and would love to have some non TPA/TFA weights to avoid having to weigh everything else. Anyone know if something like this exists?

If not, I'll be sure to post back with my results so we can get a list going.

A quick question though, for those of you who've gone down this road and measured your own.. I have a graduated cylinder (I plan on using 10ml, since most of my non-TPA/TFA flavors are under 20-25ml at this point) but I'm a little nervous about eyeballing it. I know to use the meniscus, but still not 100% i'll get the exact amount.. how much is it gong to throw things off if I ended up weighing say 8.85ml instead of 9? Huge deal? Negligible?

Thanks!

MarkyD

ECF Veteran
Sep 26, 2013
Blue Ridge
I like the idea of a flavor density list but havent had the time to play with exacting every one in my collection. Flavor density can be divided into 4 categories based on carrier... pg, vg, water and alcohol. I weighed a few pg and pga-based in order to work out a running average and found most were close to the density of the carrier itself so I've just been using that. Actual weights of my resulting mixes come out within 0.02grams of calculated weight so I know I'm close. The error is mostly in being able to drop something in a small enough quantity without overshooting. On calculating density based on volume, the more you measure volumetrically, the less the error factor will be when you divide weight/volume.

MarkyD

ECF Veteran
Sep 26, 2013
Blue Ridge