Help a Coil Building Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bundy1971

ECF Veteran
Feb 13, 2015
Cleveland, OH
I've been vaping for a long time, but I've always used pre-built coils (mostly Aspire tanks/coils). I'm getting pretty tired of sub-par taste and wasting money on crappy coils, so I'm diving into the RTA world and need the help of you fine people. Remember, I'm a newbie to a lot of RTA stuff, so be gentle with terms and such if you can!

I ordered a Pico 75W and a GV Ammit 22. Also bought some Coil Master K Clapton Wire 26+30 and some Cotton Bacon v2. I want to build a coil in the .5-.7 ohm range @3mm ID. So my question is, how many wraps should I make? I'm thinking 5-6.

Assuming I can make the coil I'm going for, what wattage would I want to run it at? I'm thinking ~30W?

Thanks in advance!

Bundy1971

ECF Veteran
Feb 13, 2015
Cleveland, OH
Is this config right? I'm showing slightly different numbers:

upload_2017-11-1_18-12-14.png

Attachments

• upload_2017-11-1_18-11-56.png
    upload_2017-11-1_18-11-56.png
    97.9 KB · Views: 18

sky4it

ECF Veteran
Nov 6, 2013
Minnesota
I'll give you some advice since Ive built plenty.

I learned some of this stuff the hard way.

1) Dont make your wick to tight in the coil, as in too thick for the coil. If its overly tight inside the coil you can get a dry burn taste.

2) Dont make your wick too loose in the coil either. If you do you can get leaks because there isnt enough wick to keep up with the juice flowing into the atomizer chamber.

So what you want is a snug wick inside the coil.

3) Dual coils, I have found typically leak easier then single coils. This might not always be the case, but its why I dont like the Kayfun Monsters. However anything without quality restrictive airflow, will IMO, cause leaking. Its what makes Kayfuns really terrific.

Bundy1971

ECF Veteran
Feb 13, 2015
Cleveland, OH
So an update on my first attempt:

First...holy $%&# my eyes are HORRIBLE! Time to visit the eye doctor!