Status
Not open for further replies.

PapawBrett

Retired
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 16, 2012
Monroe NC
Older, overweight, dry skin hands and feet, get tired easy. WebMD say Hyperthyroidism. I just say old, fat and tired. But the thyroid gland is described as a butterfly shaped gland near the top of the windpipe.
And after smoking for 40 years, I've been vaping for nearly seven years.
Maybe time to see a Doctor ...?
Anyone else experienced this while vaping ?

Shadav

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 4, 2013
Westfield, IN, USA
thehelpline.info
I think you meant hypothyroidism.... hyper is where you can't gain wait and crave salt and usually your heart rate is elevated as well as everything else in your body

hypo is where you can't lose weight and don't really eat because everything in your body has slowed down and placing a strain on your organs

Shadav

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jun 4, 2013
Westfield, IN, USA
thehelpline.info
I have been both, I have graves' disease.... when I was a teen I was finally diagnosed with hyperthyroidism/graves' disease.... it got so bad that I was eating handfuls of salt because my body was craving it so badly
by 20 I had to have my thyroid radiated because it'd made me have 5 heart attacks and 3 strokes
now i'm hypo and well ug...it sucks.... no energy no stamina....my body puts a strain on itself just to do normal tasks.... but i'm still better off than what I was before they killed my thyroid off....

PapawBrett

Retired
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 16, 2012
Monroe NC
Oh no, nothing like that. Just hands and feet are drying up, peeling and cracking open.
to r77, my employer provides an annual Health Fair (I call it the Insurance Inquisition) and our medical plan provides for an annual checkup. Just did the Health Fair, waiting on the results. Once they come in I schedule my annual physical, that way the Doctor has fresh results to look at.

Shadav

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Verified Member