Lavatube 1.5 or 2.5 ohm DCCs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jonie

Verified Member
Dec 22, 2011
California
Hey cop, thought I would share my experience with you since I have a lavatube and have just tried some SmokTech DC Cartos:

(Keep in mind I'm a newbie vaper)

I purchased a couple 3.0 Ohm and 2.5 Ohm DC versions from MadVapes and filled them up with AVE Gorrilla juice
The 3 Ohm Version was useless for me
Weak vapor production throughout the Lavatubes voltage range from 3.0 to 6.0
No throat hit at low voltages to a mildly, sharp unpleasant one at higher voltages
The thing starts getting very hot, very quickly at higher voltage

The 2.5 Ohm was not much better...
Slightly more vapor and throat hit, but not enough for my liking.
I dont understand why these were not performing well for me, perhaps they were defective.

My Boge 2.0 and 3.2 Ohm Single coil cartos work amazingly well with the Lava Tube.
Incredible Vapor, Incredible Flavor, and Throat Hit.

I dont know why the dual coils perform so differently even though they have ohm ratings similar to those of my single coils. It seems as they need more voltage or power than what the LavaTube can deliver, but at the same time they go so hot, so it makes me wonder. Anyways, that's just my experience

Killjoy1

Ω Destroyer
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Aug 15, 2011
New Hampshire, US
I dont know why the dual coils perform so differently even though they have ohm ratings similar to those of my single coils

Dual coil cartos are composed of two high resistance coils in parallel, so the total resistance winds up being half that of either individual coil. For example, a 1.5 ohm DC has two 3 ohm coils, a 3 ohm DC has two 6 ohm coils, etc. This is why they behave so differently compared to single coils of the same total resistance at the same voltages