Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris97b

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 12, 2010
Houston
Hello All,

Been a while since I posted on here, but I was hoping to perhaps get some advice to help navigate the quagmire of options these days.

I am currently running a duct tape and superglue homebuilt special. Basically just a radio shack battery box with 2 14500s and a 510 connection. I would call it a true mechanical mod, except that it doesn't actually have a switch anymore :D

I've been using it for almost 5 years now, paired with a Smok tank (1.5ohm dual coil cartos). I positively love the way this thing vapes, but it's definitely seen better days and isn't exactly the most professional thing ever in an office setting (something about wires hanging out the side and kicking it off by shorting the negative wire lead to the battery terminal...)

I'm interested in finding a few mods; one as near as possible to my current setup in terms of the vaping experience, and a modern VW/TC mod to experiment with and possibly try out sub-ohm setups.

For a straight replacement, am I best off with a mechanical mod? Seems to me like that would be the best way to re-create what I have now. I'm concerned about the tank though. My current tank leaks like a sieve, and I have concerns about future availability of the cartos that fit it. I rather like the idea of a rebuildable setup, as that removes the limitation of having to source specific made-to-fit cartos, but aren't most RBAs generally used for sub-ohm and cloud chasing? Is it possible to find (build?) an RBA that operates in the 1.5ohm range and vapes similar to what I have now?