measuring small quantities

Status
Not open for further replies.

jkajfes

Jun 25, 2014
canada
I'm curious as to what's the best or better way to measure small quantities of liquids? I'm new to DIY so when I'm experimenting with making up batches they are very small. I first tried doing 10ml batches but it seemed the margin for making errors with small amounts was high. Because of this I decided to be a bit bolder and make 30ml batches, worst fear being having to dump it down the drain if I didn't like it for taste.

The question came to mind when I looked at a 50 ml measuring graduate that was sitting on the worktable after pouring most of the contents into a 30 ml bottle. I saw about 1.5 ml in the bottom of the graduate when the session was over.

I mix a 70PG/30VG formula... the VG is very thick and sticky...

I was wondering how others do their mixing part and what type of equipment they are using when making small quantities...
any help or thoughts would be appreciated..

what I have tried is pouring the nic into the measuring graduate first, then adding the PG amount needed, next comes the VG and then finally the flavours. I then try to shake it a bit to get it mixed and then pour it into a 30ml squeeze bottle.

jk

RocketPuppy

Veteran Puppy
ECF Veteran
Dec 19, 2013
Bay Area, California, USA
I use a scale. It measures to 0.01 grams, ridiculously accurate. I make 3ml testers, and it's very easy to do. When using companies like FlavourArt, syringes didn't work because often times I needed less than .1 of a ml. The scale allows me to do it accurately. I just add drops till I have the amount I want. For larger quantities, I just pour stuff in and then use drops when I get close. No clean up, except for a glass funnel. Plus, the following calculator measures in grams and mls if you set your preferences to it.

http://www...................../create

cocacola31173

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 7, 2012
United States