More PG stuff...

Status
Not open for further replies.
...to scare the crap outta ya.

Propylene Glycol: The Good, the Bad and the Alternatives

Shane Ellison, a former pharmaceutical chemist and author of Health Myths Exposed said “Working as a chemist, I've seen propylene glycol used with the drugs lorazepam, etomidate, diazepam, nitroglycerin, and phenytoin to increase solubility. It’s foreign to the body and as such is toxic. Too much would be about 1800 mg for a 165 lb person.

"The FDA has been pretty honest about the consequences of overdose: metabolic acidosis, lactic acidosis, acute tubular necrosis, allergic contact dermatitis, hemolysis, central nervous system depression, seizures, arrhythmias, and nephrotoxicity.

“The big threat is that it is being used for Over the Counter products... And thus, intake cannot be gauged! Overdose becomes a real and present danger...

“The natural alternative would be ‘glycerol’ when flavor is not an issue for a supplier.”

So, how much is in our stuff? We can never really tell how many mg's we take in in a day if we're not given any more information than what we got. Manufacturers...speak up!

Last edited:

TropicalBob

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jan 13, 2008
Port Charlotte, FL USA
I'd read this article before. It's not alarmist, but falls into that fringe category of "should I act on this information?" It's like a court trial where one side says this and has expert witnesses, then the other side counters with its expert witnesses. The result is confusion. Where lies truth?