Mosfet question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Oldgrandpainmi

Jul 25, 2015
Hello all!
Newbie here, to both this site and to mod box's. Please excuse me if this post is done incorrectly.

I have been studying online schematics to mod box's for a while. I have a question regarding the mosfet in the circuit below. (It is a common schematic all over Google, not the one I'm developing.) In the circuit, what is the minimum gate voltage required to trigger the MOSFET?

Thanks all!!

Attachments

• 7a3epene.jpg
    7a3epene.jpg
    80.6 KB · Views: 21

Mooch

Electron Wrangler
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
  • May 13, 2015
    Hello all!
    Newbie here, to both this site and to mod box's. Please excuse me if this post is done incorrectly.

I have been studying online schematics to mod box's for a while. I have a question regarding the mosfet in the circuit below. (It is a common schematic all over Google, not the one I'm developing.) In the circuit, what is the minimum gate voltage required to trigger the MOSFET?

Thanks all!!

Welcome to ECF!

That MOSFET will start to turn on at, worst case, 2.50V. But that is only for 0.00025 amps. To turn it on hard enough for vaping you'll need more voltage than that, 2.7V at least. Preferably 3.0V if you are drawing a lot of current.

These are all worst case scenarios though. You might be able to turn it on as low as 2.0V but this voltage changes slightly with each MOSFET. In my opinion, it's best to plan for the worst. :)

Reactions: mauricem00

Mooch

Electron Wrangler
    ECF Veteran
    Verified Member
  • May 13, 2015
    no links to mods but they behave the same but with better turn on characteristics, better current ratings....

Thanks!