My first mod (18650)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rothman

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 21, 2010
Aviano, Italy
I finally decided to post pics of my first and only mod. This is the device I've been using for a few months now. It has undergone a few revisions since it was first made. It is a 7075 aluminum body with 305 stainless steel ends. The stainless ends are new. It was all aluminum at first but I quickly found out that nic juice and aluminum don't like each other and it corroded badly. Corrosion equals less continuity equals less vapor equals sucks. Throwing huge clouds again with completely corrosion resistant ends:2cool:.

I love my ego but I have grown so comfortable with this thing that it just feels natural now. I must say that I have an unfair advantage in the world of modding though, I'm a machinist.

IMG_1098.jpg

IMG_1102.jpg

IMG_1101.jpg

Rothman

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 21, 2010
Aviano, Italy
Yeah, it tapers slightly up to the top and slightly down to the botton. That's because I filed it down to merge the stainless and aluminum together. I didn't think I would like it at first but now I like it better than when it was straight.

Those are 30mm rounds with a 20mm in the middle. A-10 and F-16 rounds respectively. But man, I would feel bad for the guy shooting that gun if they were sniper rounds!

BobTheKlown

ECF Veteran
Sep 11, 2010
Red Oak, Tx
Yeah, it tapers slightly up to the top and slightly down to the botton. That's because I filed it down to merge the stainless and aluminum together. I didn't think I would like it at first but now I like it better than when it was straight.

Those are 30mm rounds with a 20mm in the middle. A-10 and F-16 rounds respectively. But man, I would feel bad for the guy shooting that gun if they were sniper rounds!

That is a beautiful mod, I wish I had access to a machine shop :glare:.... Awesome look with the tapering... :thumb: