My vaping journey – Lessons learnt

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well hi everyone, my first post here. I have been vaping for 3 months after 40 years smoking. Every day with the help of this site I learn more about vaping and how I like it. So here is my vaping journey. Hope some of the mistakes I’ve made might help other newcomers.

I started out with a couple of clone eGo Twist batteries at 650mAh & 1000mAh, a Justfog 1453, a completely unknown head which had variable airflow and a variety of 12mg Dekang and Hangsen juice. The unknown head fell apart inside 2 weeks and the Justfog tasted burnt and I wasn’t getting enough Nicotine to stop me having breakfast and dinner cigarettes.

So I took the plunge and bought myself an Aspire Nautilus Mini, fresh coils for the Justfog and some 18mg juice. Still the burnt tastes persisted but the extra nicotine did the job and I got off the tobacco. I was also having blockage and spitting problems with the Nautilus.

Then I upgraded to an Aspire CFVV 1600mAh battery for the Mini. Initially the combo (with new coil) tasted great but quickly became metallic/burnt tasting and blocked. Changing coils gave little improvement.

I was close to dumping E-Cigs, so I did some web research. And the breakthrough happened after finding this excellent forum and especially a link to Woody's "Guide to Safe Vaping and Finding APV's sweetspot!" at ecigadvanced. I had been driving all my batteries at full (4.8 volts) and consequently too high a wattage, no wonder I was getting that burnt metallic taste.

Using Woody's chart I dialled everything back to about 8 watts. Bingo! Bye-bye burnt metallica and hello flavour. What a break through.

I was still having mild burnt taste, blockage, popping, the occasional spitting issue and variable vapour production with the Aspire BVC coils and oddly (for an atty that very little seems to be known about) the Justfog became my preferred setup.