Need some advice regarding 100% VG base

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nate M.

Verified Member
Jul 18, 2013
Cape Cod, MA
Hi guys,

I'm completely new to DIY, when I got my DIY vapemail I jumped the gun and wasted a bunch of liquid (50%VG + 50%flavor) lol. Tasted like.. rose petals in my brain.

Anyways, I'm looking for some advice in regards to starting with a 100% VG base. I have some 100% PG (nic) coming in this week from WL hopefully, but will delve into that later.

Questions:

-When using 100% VG base and PG flavoring, do I still need to add water?

-When using 100% VG base, what is a general % of flavoring I can expect to use? 20-25%?(I read that VG hardly carries flavor)

-With MBV flavorings, what % of flavoring do you suggest to start with?

I guess I should've started with a 50VG/50PG base to keep things simple.. But all I have at the moment to work with is VG. Any suggestions would be great. I haven't been able to taste much, it's either a floral overdose or no taste except what ends up on my tongue.

There is a Michael's down the street and I was thinking about getting some flavoring there if my MBV stuff isn't working out.

I have a few jars at home in the rice cooker at 70%vg+25%flavor+5%water, 75%vg+25%flavor, and 80%vg+15%flavor+5%water.

Any help would be great!
Nate

Kurt

Quantum Vapyre
ECF Veteran
Sep 16, 2009
Philadelphia
I am not familiar with Michael's flavorings, but for most regular flavors (not superconcentrates or tobacco absolutes) most people vape between 5% and 20%, depending on the person.

I make only VG juices, but I do use flavors that are often solutions of flavor compounds in PG, so many of my juices do have PG. My flavored juices are between 5% and 10% flavoring...more than that is too much PG for me. Many here use a mix of PG and VG for the base, but there are also many here that cannot tolerate PG much.