New guy with an odd question!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chew Magna

Jun 8, 2014
The Bluff
Howdy everyone, just joined so I could get some good info on the vaping hobby. I am a hobbyist when it comes to vaping as I stopped smoking years ago. My girlfriend smokes and I'm around smokers constantly at my job, so I thought this would be the best thing to keep me from picking it up again. I've been vaping for two or three weeks now, I had no idea what I was getting in to at first but I've done tons of reading and spent hours watching videos on the ol' YTube. I initially picked up a cheap starter kit called Bold Vapor and quickly upgraded the tank to a ProTank II, then added a Mini PT2 (because some acidic juice ruined the stock tank, thought it was glass... it wasn't) and now I've switched the battery to an iTaste VV V3.0 (looking at getting a mech soon).

Now for my odd question. I have the PT2 and a MPT2. I've rebuilt both units with 28g kanthal. One ended up being .7 ohms (I had no meter at first) and the iTaste won't fire this one. My old battery (the Bold) will and it works great on that. The two that do work on the iTaste are a .8 ohm horizontal micro coil and a 1.4 ohm vertical chimney micro coil. We're going to talk about the .8 ohm horizontal coil.

In the MPT2 this thing works great. I run it at 3.8v and I get huge flavor (vanilla custard juice, incredible) and tons of vapor. It immediately fires up and literally throws the vapor into my mouth. It's amazing. Now the coil heads for both tanks are identical, so you'd think that I could just put this head in the PT2 and vape away on it. It doesn't work that way. When I put the coil unit into the PT2 the vapor and flavor are greatly reduced, to the point that it really isn't even usable. It takes much longer for it to fire as well, still at the same 3.8v. I put it back in the MPT2 and everything is gravy again.