New Member, New Vaper ...possible battery problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan!

May 15, 2018
Hi there I am completely new to vaping and have no idea about wattage and ratios and well alot, I have an innokin jem

I have been having issues with it tasting burnt first time I happened was my own fault I didn't know how to prime the coil, but since then I've been doing it properly and it's still happening,

At the moment I'm using a 6mg nicotine
70vg 30pg

I primed the coil correctly
Making sure it's fully charged
Not chain vaping
Using at lowest setting

Whats making me think its the battery because I get a good draw then a burnt one than a good one ...... and also it won't hold a charge going from green to Amber within an hour or two

Any help would be much Appreciated thanks!

Reactions: BrotherBob

Baditude

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2012
Ridgeway, Ohio
Your battery wouldn't be causing the burnt taste, unless you are using too high of a wattage setting. The Innokin Jem barely qualifies as a variable wattage regulated mod, with 5 preset wattage options. Highest wattage setting is only 13.5 watts, so I doubt you are using too high of a wattage setting. The tank uses a 1.6 ohm coil, so the coil and wattage seem appropriately matched.

The internal battery is only 1000mah capacity, so although an hour or two battery time is suspiciously weak, it's not going to last you all day. Are you certain that you fully charged it?

Last edited:
  • Agree
Reactions: stols001

Topwater Elvis

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Dec 26, 2012
Texas
More than likely it is the 70% Vg liquid being slow to wick causing the random burnt tasting hits.
Of course it could also be caused by overly flavored & sweetened goopy gunky type liquids clogging wicking & gunking up the coil, or a combination of both high Vg & goopy gunky liquids.