Newer tech much harsher on nicotine delivery?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cicatrize

ECF Veteran
Jan 14, 2010
Michigan
I started vaping in July, 2009, so I've been doing this for almost 6 years. I've had the pleasure of watching the tech go from 501/801/901, 510, "Janty Stick", the screwdriver, eGo, etc, all the way to now, where we have 100w+ devices and sub-ohm coils that just rip through juice, albeit much more efficiently. I originally started at 18-24mg juice and have worked my way down to 12mg. I haven't been too good at keeping up with the times, since I quickly find something that I like and stick with it for a while until something else meets my needs a little better, so my knowledge might be a little less than your average 5+ year vaper.

Ever since the ProTank came out, I feel like the nicotine delivery is getting harsher with each new atomizer design. I had the ProTank 1, 2 and 3, and recently upgraded to a SubTank Mini (which itself is somewhat of a misnomer as "mini", lol). My primary mod is the iStick 20w, which I run at 15w with the subtank mini (1.2ohm coil, since the 20w iStick can't do sub-ohm). GREAT vape, but occasionally I get a nasty throat hit that makes me cough, and sometimes it actually hurts it's so bad. I don't understand why, since I see my vaping peers in my local shop hitting sub-ohm coils at 30w all day long with no issues.

Is 12mg considered high nic now? I'm a mouth-to-lung vaper, and I've noticed that the more closed the airflow is, the harsher the throat hit is, so I've actually opened up my subtank to the 2-hole flow, which for me is too airy, as I'd prefer something slightly more open than the fully closed position, but less than the 1 hole, but I just can't do it.

440BB

Vaping Master
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 19, 2011
The Motor City