Nicotine taste......cough.........cough

Status
Not open for further replies.

L i am

Sep 8, 2018
Hi, I am pretty new to vaping, trying to get off the cigs. Anyway I had some watermelon with 18% nicotine given to me. I loved it, nice and sweet with no taste of nicotine. I recently bought some 18% from NZ and I can really taste the nicotine which is still very noticeable even when mixed with other low PG high VG flavours at 1 part watermelon/nicotein 18% with 3 parts other. Is that how it is (just tastes bad to me) Or am I just buying the wrong nicotien mix.?

Last edited:
Reactions: stols001

Hawise

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Mar 25, 2013
AB, Canada
I agree with the others who've said nicotine doesn't have a taste, exactly, but it could just be how you're describing it. Two thoughts:
  • Can you ask the person who gave you the original juice what nicotine they used? In particular, was it freebase ('normal') or nic salts? Nic salts are much smoother.
  • Nicotine can get more peppery as it ages, particularly if it gets warmed up or exposed to light and oxygen. Could the nicotine you're using be a bit degraded? Try getting some from another source.

stols001

Moved On
ECF Veteran
May 30, 2017
Could depend on type of nicotine used, (salts vs freebase) could depend on quality of nicotine, age of mix, how well it's mixed (if it's from a DIYer there could be issues) could be PG/VG ratio, could be almost anything.

Could you list all the numbers on your label from the manufacturer juice, as well as any words on there? That would give us a starting point for guessing.

Also, list everything you remember that you were told by the DIY person regarding what it's made of and if you can, ask them to tell you Everything including where the ingredients came from (including nic, PG and etc.)