Please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Locus0fcontrol

Jul 3, 2015
Okay. So I'm new to vaping. I just bought a kanger subox mini. It comes fairly set up. I bought a battery 18650 and put it on. Filled the tank that was already set up and set the watts to 10. Did dry pulls for about a minute. But I keep getting a burnt taste in my throat. What am I doing wrong? The ohms at one point went all the way up to 9.9 and the watts were at 7.

I'm scared to use the damn thing.

edyle

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Oct 23, 2013
Port-of-Spain, Trinidad & Tobago
Okay. So I'm new to vaping. I just bought a kanger subox mini. It comes fairly set up. I bought a battery 18650 and put it on. Filled the tank that was already set up and set the watts to 10. Did dry pulls for about a minute. But I keep getting a burnt taste in my throat. What am I doing wrong? The ohms at one point went all the way up to 9.9 and the watts were at 7.

I'm scared to use the damn thing.

1: well you should always start low and move up gradually when you are new

2: when the ohms comes up as 9.9 that means the battery is not seeing the coil.

Sir2fyablyNutz

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 22, 2015
West Virginia, USA
hi LocusOfControl, and welcome to the forum. First, the coil needs to be primed or you will get dry hits. Before filling the tank you put 4 drops down the hole in the coil to soak the cotton wick. Then you add a drop to each side where the cotton has a hole to get the juice. If you don't prime the coil then you will get dry hits and probably burn your wick past use. (which is where you may be now) Change the coil head and prime it.

It sounds like a poor connection in the tank or between the tank and the battery (mod). Make certain the new coil is firmly screwed into the bottom of the base on the subtank. Also make certain the contact points on both the tank and the battery (mod) are clean (use a qtip or paper towel).