Question about aluminum mods

Status
Not open for further replies.

Classic vaper

Jan 12, 2019
I have been using copper and brass mods all my life. However I just inherited a bare aluminum timekeeper. I want to use it, but I want to know more about it. Are aluminum mods reliable? Do they have to be cleaned as often as copper? Do they perform well? Are they safe? Sorry I've been vaping since 2014 but this is my first aluminum mod and just want some advice on it.

TheTinMan

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 25, 2016
North Carolina
If you have been using copper and brass tube mechs then you shouldn’t have any issues with the Timekeeper. There will probably be a little more voltage drop.

The rest you probably already know
-if it is a hybrid then use a hybrid safe atty
-make sure your batteries are in top condition with no tears and damage to the positive side protecting ring
-know ohms law

As far as cleaning it won’t tarnish like copper.

Reactions: Classic vaper

Shawn Hoefer

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 21, 2015
Arkansas Ozarks
Actually, a little less voltage drop than brass (watch Battery Mooch's mech tests on YouTube where he compares all metal versions of the Broadside... good stuff, there). And, although the mod won't tarnish, if it's bare aluminum, it might turn your hands black over time... easily washed off, but something to be aware of. Of course, you could clear coat it...

TraderX

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 29, 2015
Philly Suburbs
and keep in mind dish soap will react with it and turn it black, so avoid that when cleaning

I have cleaned my raw aluminum Reo Grands with dish soap for years now, every single weekend. They have not turned black yet. I do love the Black Reo Grands, so perhaps I need to use the dish soap more often???

Reactions: CMD-Ky

bombastinator

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Sep 12, 2010
MN USA