Status
Not open for further replies.

RayN

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 10, 2012
Texas
can't say about too little unfortunately,as it's not something i've done before .....
But, too much can indeed cause dry hits yes, as too much will essentially choke the coils resulting in bad wicking from the cotton and in turn cause dry hits.
Ok thanks! I'm still new at rebuilding and having a hard time hitting that "Goldilocks" spot of just right.

zoiDman

My -0^10 = Nothing at All*
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal
Hi All! Quick rebuilding question. Does too much (and too little) wick in the juice wells both cause dry hits?

I use Pad Cotton. And for Me, that Goldilocks Zone is when I pull the Cotton thru the Coil and I can feel a good amount of Resistance, but the cotton Doesn't want to Bunch Up.

Either Too Little or Too Much Cotton can both cause Dry Hits. More so with Too Much IMO.

RayN

Ultra Member
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 10, 2012
Texas
I use Pad Cotton. And for Me, that Goldilocks Zone is when I pull the Cotton thru the Coil and I can feel a good amount of Resistance, but the cotton Doesn't want to Bunch Up.

Either Too Little or Too Much Cotton can both cause Dry Hits. More so with Too Much IMO.

I'm using a little less cotton than that. Mine's not as tight in the coil. I end up with a little bow tie after I pull it through. I'm having a hard time figuring out how much of that bow tie gets cut to make it narrower. I "think" I am cutting it to the right length, but I'm probably leaving it too wide and pushing it into the juice well that way.

Reactions: stols001

zoiDman

Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 16, 2010
So-Cal