The costs of running this huge site are paid for by ads. Please consider registering and becoming a Supporting Member for an ad-free experience. Thanks, ECF team.

RDA Hygiene and maintenance

Discussion in 'RDA' started by Old Greybeard, Sep 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Image has been removed.
URL has been removed.
Email address has been removed.
Media has been removed.
  1. Old Greybeard

Old Greybeard Super Member ECF Veteran

Aug 31, 2018
    Cumbria
    I'm fairly new to vaping, and finally got round to trying out the RDA configuration on my Nautilus Quad-flex tonight. Please forgive this question if it is a bit simple.

While I really enjoyed the experience [The cumulative nicotine hit @ 6mg was impressive], dripping through the day is not really practical for me. I can see myself dripping in the evenings, maybe every few days or so or when testing out juices.

How long can I leave the deck plus the cap in its last used state before I need to totally strip it down and rebuild it [coils + wick]? If the coils are not obviously gunged up is it best to re-wick each session? Or can I leave the cotton in place until it begins to look really past it's use by date?

• Like Like x 2
  2. Susaz

Susaz Vaping Master ECF Veteran

Replace wicks at discretion. I generally do when it starts tasting wonky, with darker liquids it might be more often. Some people wait until coils are very gunked up.
    As for coils, I generally dry burn with every wick change. I heat it up several times then rinse it in water. Once a month or so I put everything but the built deck on the ultrasonic washer with 1/2 a teaspoon of baking soda (I really use sodium bicarbonate if you can get it). Bicarbonate neutralizes odors. Also a little vinegar helps cut down on grease.