safety concerns of sintered ceramic wicks/coils

Status
Not open for further replies.

jefx

Account closed on request
ECF Veteran
Jan 27, 2015
Chicago burbs
A new coil design has emerged using sintered porous ceramic as a wicking material to provide eliquid to the coil, negating the need for fibrous wicks. Currently this design is being used in the vaporesso, and soon to be in the iJoy Reaper Plus.

I have been trying to do some homework on this material as a wick, but there haven't been any studies done in that area (at least that I can find).

There are, however, many studies about thermal degradation of ceramics, including sintered porous ceramics. Most of them (online) require payment to read, so I can't link any of them here.

Here is one that is free to read:
http://www.hindawi.com/journals/isrn/2011/816853/

While it doesn't answer specific questions vapers might have, it does shed some light on a material most of us vapers know very little about.

I am not a material scientist, so if there are any ceramic experts reading this, please feel free to correct me if I am misunderstanding this study, or if you can add any scientific knowledge about the safety of ceramic as a wick/coil.

Reactions: gerrymi

jefx

ECF Veteran
Jan 27, 2015
Chicago burbs
I am not being an alarmist, nor am i trying to dissuade anyone from using ceramic as a coil wick. I'm just sharing my thoughts about what I've read.

In that study, they investigate the thermal degradation of sintered porous ceramic by heating it, then cooling it, and examine the structural changes in the material. They use temperature extremes beyond what most vapers would see.

The study shows that sintered porous ceramic experiences microscopic breaks in the structures surrounding the pores, that can even lead to complete failure of structural strength. Different pore sizes and and ceramic composition can increase or decrease the amount of degradation when heat cycled.

sofarsogood

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran