Safety. This stuff can hurt!

Status
Not open for further replies.

flaw101

Mar 28, 2010
FL
ecighome.com
I'm kinda new to ecigs. Started with a couple evods and tanks. No problems.

then decided to try a dripper set up. Got the Smokteck rda mini and a cheap mod and some batteries and off I went. Decided to build a coil. One of my first builds was 4 turns of 28 awg kanthal on some 2 mm silica. I stupidly put the battery in the mod upside down (negative to the top, positive at the bottom on the button). Didn't lock the button while making adjustments to the coil with my index finger. Pow...pain to my index finger. Felt like a burn, but I ended up with what appears to be a cauterized 1 inch cut in the finger tip. It's healing up, but I'm obviously a tard.

Backwards battery placement in a mod energizes the outside case when the fire button is pressed. That was the first mistake. Not locking the fire button while the tank was off was the second mistake.

Be careful. My career is in electronics and I understand electricity. This was a bonehead move. Be careful....it freaking hurts!

Ouch! Almost took home a Darwin Honorable Mention myself early on in my vaping history. Touched a hot coil. Just to see what it felt like. Not red hot, but hot enough to leave a mark and lasting pain. Why did I do that? Because I'm an idiot but I never accidentally burned myself since.

Worked at this liquor store once. First day, the boss takes me and this cheap bottle of wine out in the back alley. Thought we were about to party! No. He says, "Here, smash this bottle on the ground."

"Huh?"

He goes all Nike on me: "Just Do It."

"Okay, strange way to run a liquor store but okay." So I smash it. Felt good.

"Everybody who works here breaks a bottle. That was your One, that cheap bottle of Two Buck Chuck. Don't break any more, especially not the Dom. Now clean up that mess."