Steam-engine and coil length question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kennneth

ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2019
Dallas
Howdy, noob here but have a couple questions...

I used steam-engine and was wondering why it doesn't have a calculated value for leg-to-leg distance? (i.e. multiply #wraps by width). Or maybe I'm blind :sleep:

And is there a ratio of leg-to-leg length to air hole diameter that's most desired?

Ex to me length of finished coil and leg-to-leg length are same

. >------------< distance I'm asking about
.....|..............|
....\\\\\\\\\\\\
............. air hole

..... Air hole
....... or

..Air hole?

and air hole size in relation to this distance.

Last edited:
Reactions: GOMuniEsq

Kennneth

ECF Veteran
Apr 8, 2019
Dallas
Steam does not give a leg to leg distance. Not sure why, perhaps because it can not account for spaced coils (just a wild guess). And not sure what you mean by air hole. Are you referring to the air hole of the atomizer? Not sure how Steam can gauge that

I wasn't clear on the air hole question, sry... and is not related to steam.

This ratio

pevofCo.png

• Optimistic
Reactions: Skunk!

Punk In Drublic

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Aug 28, 2018
Toronto, ON
I wasn't clear on the air hole question, sry... and is not related to steam.

This ratio

pevofCo.png

With the many different types of atomizers along with different air flow configurations I do not know of any kind of ratio – perhaps some have come up with their own….mine is called “Trial and error”. Doesn’t always work as planned the first time, but if I keep at it, I usually find success. But interesting question.

GOMuniEsq

Self-Proclaimed Member
ECF Veteran
Aug 25, 2012
Alberta, Canada