New Guy Desperately Needs Help With Steam Engine and Coil

Status
Not open for further replies.

Celt1

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Mar 6, 2018
USA
I am new to coil building, and following the advice I see to use Steam Engine for coil calculations, I tried it out, but am mystified by the results. I have a Digiflavor Siren 2 tank coming this week (actually several), along with a roll of SS316L 26 gauge coil wire. My goal for this MTL tank is to make a coil somewhere around 1.0-1.3 Ohms.

In Steam Engine when I select the SS316L material, 26 Gauge, single coil, 1 Ohm target, 2.5 mm inner diameter coil, and leave the leg length at the default 5mm, I get a result of 16 wraps. Is that correct?

Just from what I have read from other builds it seems like way too many wraps , and perhaps impossible to use physically with that build deck. Am I using Steam Engine incorrectly?

I'll be using the tank on a Think Vape Finder DNA75C TC Box Mod, and want a relatively low wattage using temperature controlled mode. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
Reactions: stols001

Izan

Vaping Master
ECF Veteran
Jul 1, 2012
Mallorca, Spain
I am new to coil building, and following the advice I see to use Steam Engine for coil calculations, I tried it out, but am mystified by the results. I have a Digiflavor Siren 2 tank coming this week (actually several), along with a roll of SS316L 26 gauge coil wire. My goal for this MTL tank is to make a coil somewhere around 1.0-1.3 Ohms.

In Steam Engine when I select the SS316L material, 26 Gauge, single coil, 1 Ohm target, 2.5 mm inner diameter coil, and leave the leg length at the default 5mm, I get a result of 16 wraps. Is that correct?

Just from what I have read from other builds it seems like way too many wraps , and perhaps impossible to use physically with that build deck. Am I using Steam Engine incorrectly?