Temperature Protection Warning

Status
Not open for further replies.

ckn71nm

ECF Veteran
Jan 22, 2014
ABQ, NM, USA
Hi all,

I am new to TC and I have a few questions. It is more a need for clarification. I am using a smok AL85 mod and just finished my first Ni200 build. The resistance displayed on the screen is 0.069.

The problem I am having is that no matter what value I set the wattage and temperature to, I always get the “Temperature protection” warning. I think it is normal to get to a point where the current is cut off because you reach the temperature set point, but it seems odd to me that you can put the mod into “stealth mode” and then have the screen light up at almost every puff with the warning. Also, is there a “proper” way to adjust the W and Temp? Do I start with low temp and adjust the W to an acceptable ramp time, then go up with the temp until it tastes right? What do people usually do?

I will switch to SS316 as soon as it arrives. Seems a little bit more straightforward. Especially since I won’t have to deal with a 10+ wrap coil deforming when I wick it.

Letitia

Citrus Junkie
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Apr 2, 2017
West Frankfort, IL
Smok is not known for reliable tc. With my Gpriv I always had to fiddle with it. Let your tank reach room temp and try a factory reset (if you haven't upgraded firmware). Helped with gpriv. If you haven't got the latest firmware do some research and see if you want to.

Eskie

ECF Guru
ECF Veteran
Verified Member
May 6, 2016
NY