Thoughts on a mod concept

Status
Not open for further replies.

pumasforpets

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 19, 2012
NWI
So, I am brand new to vaping but can see myself becoming a hobbyist very quickly. Last night I was walking around outside to clear my head and do some creative thinking which is what I always did with analogs and got to thinking about a box style mod using the battery from something like my Motorola Droid 3 which is flat, 3.7v and 1500mAh. It could be very thin and light weight using an external 510 or the like connection or even better have a connection that slides into the unit allowing something like a cartomizer to be completely stored inside the box and then pulled out after opening a small door cover when ready to use. Another possibility would be a square shaped tank system which would make the unit more bulky, but longer lasting in terms of fluid.

The BF5X battery is very common, costs $10-12, is 1500mAh and is quite compact. I saw box mods that use round batteries and simply thought it looked like a waste of space. Plus, you could use the exact same charger as your phone to charge the unit. The mod would be best if it mimicked the Droid styling with the black rubberized case and sleek buttons.

Any thoughts, comments or suggestions?

pumasforpets

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jan 19, 2012
NWI
I don't think it will handle the amperage. And I'm pretty sure it's been tried. I'd like to be wrong>

Hmm...might have to get some commentary from someone with more knowledge on electrical engineering.

The BF5X battery has a max rating of 6Whr (6 watt hours), but I don't know if that translates to the Watt's Law calculation of (VxV)/R = W directly or not. If so, the battery should be able to handle a 2.5 ohm carto just fine since (3.7 * 3.7) / 2.5 = 5.476 watts. But again, I don't know if that's the case.