Status
Not open for further replies.

nar0bin

Verified Member
Feb 21, 2014
McKinney, Tx
I'm a newbie to the rda world for the most part. I tried some rba's in the past but that was about a year ago. I got my Trident v2 in the mail today and bought some organic cotton and 28 gauge kanthal. I'm doing about a 10 wrap micro coil. Getting 1.9 ohm. The cotton tasted a little off so I boiled it but it will be about a day before it's dry. I've been vaping with the unboiled in the interim. What gauge would be best to get a low ohm (1.4-1.6) with about 9-12 wraps? What volts should I fire at with my 1.9ohm coil I have right now. I'm going at about 4.7 volts and it seems to be doing well. Any advice would help a ton.

Pensilac

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 3, 2013
Utica, NY
I'm at I think 9 wraps of 28 gauge on a 1/16th drill bit running 1.7 ohms with that exact setup. At work today I think I had it set at 4.3 volts which was working nicely for me, haven't felt the need to go up any higher with it.

I would say, for you at 1.9 on 28 gauge, 4.5 to 4.7 would probably be fine as with all them wraps it does take a bit for 28 gauge to heat up.

Pensilac

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Nov 3, 2013
Utica, NY
Would a different gauge be more ideal?

I personally wouldn't use a lower gauge than 28 on a Provari as I don't think it provides enough power to heat up the coil to where it would be an advantage. Any higher of a gauge and you're resistance would be much higher than 1.6 at 9 or more wraps.

Maybe try wrapping a nano coil around a needle or something small like that to get the higher amount of wraps at a lower resistance, would heat up pretty quick I imagine. I've never wrapped on anything smaller than a 1/16th drill bit so I have no actual experience with them though but it may be worth a shot.

nar0bin

Verified Member
Feb 21, 2014
McKinney, Tx