Twisted pair 26 ga

Status
Not open for further replies.

vaper1960

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Apr 24, 2019
California, US
I personally just use the default in steam engine. I twist until it snaps on one of the ends during twisting. :2c:
The default is 0. Yes, for a really tight twist I can see going till it snaps. The 26 ga wire is about 0.4 mm dia so in theory the tightest spacing would that value... might just go with 0.5 mm... should be close enough. Once I twist the wire, will measure 10 twists and divide by 10 (for future reference)

vaper1960

Moved On
ECF Veteran
Apr 24, 2019
California, US
This might sound "...." but I have a choice of which way to twist the wires (clockwise/counterclockwise)... does it matter concerning which way I wrap the coil (I will be doing clockwise... wrap over from left to right) Doubt it matters but maybe it will help the wires stay twisted tight? This is my first attempt at this (have a vice and cordless drill) Wish me luck.

AngeNZ

ShutterBug
Supporting Member
ECF Veteran
Contest Winner!
  • Mar 24, 2018
    New Zealand
    Here's a pretty picture to help :thumbs:
    twistPinch.jpg

As you've figured out, this would be a Pitch Twist of 1.5mm

This might sound "...." but I have a choice of which way to twist the wires (clockwise/counterclockwise)... does it matter concerning which way I wrap the coil (I will be doing clockwise... wrap over from left to right) Doubt it matters but maybe it will help the wires stay twisted tight? This is my first attempt at this (have a vice and cordless drill) Wish me luck.

I don't think it matters, especially with thicker wire. Once you have a tight enough pitch, the wires stay twisted and won't unravel

Reactions: Seiggy

vaper1960

Moved On
    ECF Veteran
    Apr 24, 2019
    California, US