Using carto-tanks with the Icon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

monarch79

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 15, 2011
Portland, Oregon
Hi everybody! I'm new to the PureSmoker sub-forum, as I just bought my first PS device... :cool:

I've used: Volcano, Magma, Inferno, boxmods, GLV2 SM, Lavatube, Bolt, BB... I've been analog free for two years (in two weeks) so I've been around the block a couple times, but I wanted a pocket friendly 14500 device that looks slick and could crush an eGo with one fatal blow... The search lead me to the PS Icon!

The only thing that kept me from ordering the Icon sooner (before the BB) was that I am a carto-tank user, and I heard that the Icon doesn't work with tanks without a 510 extender because of the moat... Are there any Icon/tank users out there that could give me some advice? Should I look around for somebody with an older style 'moat-less' 510 adapter, or should I just use the 510 extender? How much of a gap will it put between the tank and the tip of the Icon?

I do love my carto-tanks, I have a few polished aluminum 4ml tanks that should look hot on the Icon, so I would like to have a streamlined solution to the 'moat problem'...

Tanks for the advice, and I look forward to unwrapping my new Icon!

It would be sweet if PS would sell some 4ml aluminum tanks, and adapters for the Prodigy/Icon to make it seamless... The adapter being switchable should warrant more options... Take advantage of that great design!

milo hobo

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Jul 16, 2011
Lake Charles La
I use the icon and the moat does get in the way. I have a 510 to 510 shorty adapter but it stil doesn't raise it high enough for me to fit my drip shield. I would suggest trying to find the old adapter.

I like the idea of utilizing different adapter options. Might make a built in tank option possible!

monarch79

ECF Veteran
Verified Member
Apr 15, 2011
Portland, Oregon